Double click here to edit Header component
Signpost is empty.Double click here to edit it in Header component
Parsys 1

Barclays announces it will be the title sponsor of a new international football tournament, The Barclays New York Challenge.

Parsys 2
Parsys 3
Parsys 4
The Barclays New York Challenge is an exciting new tournament that will bring the best of European and US soccer together...
Bob Diamond, President of Barclays

The tournament will take place between 22 and 25 July 2010 at the Red Bull Arena, home of the New York Red Bulls.

This inaugural tournament will see two top Barclays Premier League teams, Manchester City and Tottenham, face Sporting Lisbon, and local side New York Red Bulls, providing Barclays with a series of extensive rights including broadcast branding, ticketing and hospitality.

President of Barclays Bob Diamond, said: "The Barclays New York Challenge is an exciting new tournament that will bring the best of European and US soccer together, allowing us a great opportunity to build on our already successful sponsorship of the world's most popular domestic soccer league, the Barclays Premier League."

"Barclays is one of the world's leading investment banks, with a significant presence in North America and a growing presence in wealth management and credit cards in the region. This is a great opportunity to sponsor a new soccer tournament in one of the most exciting sports markets in the world."

Matches will take place in the 25,000 seat Red Bull Arena, a new stadium opened earlier this year and already established as one of the best soccer stadiums in the USA.

The schedule for the matches, which will be shown by international broadcasters, is:

  • Thursday, 22 July - New York Red Bulls v Tottenham (20:00 EDT / 01:00 BST+1)
  • Friday, 23 July - Sporting Lisbon v Manchester City (20:00 EDT / 01:00 BST+1)
  • Sunday, 25 July - Tottenham v Sporting Lisbon (13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST)
  • Sunday, 25 July - New York Red Bulls v Manchester City (15:30 EDT / 20:30 BST)
Parsys 5
Parsys 6
Parsys 7
Parsys 8

Latest News

Growth

Destination UK set for a bumper year

27 Apr 2017, 09:00 BST

Group

My Working Day: Bev Clarkson

21 Apr 2017, 10:30 BST

Growth

Finance for farmers

21 Apr 2017, 10:03 BST

Parsys 9
Parsys 10